Back to blog

Publishing Controls

When using the Mission Maker (and especially when publishing Missions) it’s very important to understand the different publishing controls, especially the difference between previewing a Mission and publishing it. One of the most common technical obstacles our support team encounters is when a partner publishes a live Mission but can’t find it in the app. When we go to look at the Mission status, sure enough, it’s in Preview Mode! This happens incredibly often but is very easy to fix once you know the difference between Publish and Preview.

To check the current status of your Missions, go to the My Missions page in the Mission Maker, and then check the right hand side of the Mission menu to see if the Mission has been set to Published, Unpublished, or Preview Mode. Please refer to the below examples to see what each control scheme means:

  • Published: This means your Mission is active and open to be accessed by the public. A green check mark will be beneath the Published section, the Publish control button will be set to ‘Unpublish’, and the Preview Mode switch will be set to ‘Off’.
Published
  • Unplublished: This means your Mission has not been made active, and cannot be accessed anywhere except through the Mission Maker. A grey X will be displayed in lieu of the green check mark, the Publish control button will be set to ‘Publish’, and the Preview Mode switch will be set to ‘Off’.
Unpublished
  • Preview Mode: This means that your Mission is active, but can only be accessed while you are in Preview Mode on the app (mainly used to test unpublished Missions). A green check mark will be beneath the Published section, the Publish control button will be set to ‘Unpublish’, and the Preview Mode button will be set to ‘On’.
Preview Mode

Remember — in Preview Mode, you can test the challenges in your Mission(s) right from the convenience of your home or office, as well as auto-complete and reset those Missions. That way you don’t have to walk out to the physical location each time a Challenge needs testing! You can enable Preview Mode on the app by pressing and holding down the Agents of Discovery logo on the title screen for 3 seconds.

If you have any other questions about previewing and testing Missions, please reach out directly to your Customer Success Representative or contact us at [email protected]